top of page

Send me your Guardian Angel?


Being Blessed in my youth does not adequately describe how much grace I was given to keep me from serious sin. At the age at 14 I feel in love with The Blessed Virgin and the Holy Roman Catholic Church. This was largely due to my older sister taking me to Catholic Bible Studies and events. Thanks Sis! ;) On top of this there was a cloistered monastery right beside my high school. I went to daily Mass there and every week the Archbishop would Celebrate the Holy Mass. And directly across the street from my school was a parish that had Eucharistic Adoration. This was the main reason I am the man I am today, it shaped my Catholic identity.

One Saturday afternoon while going to confession with my spiritual director, he suggested I read the book entitled, Send Me your Guardian Angel, a book about St. Padre Pio.

"One of Padre Pio’s spiritual daughters was walking along a country road to the Convent. There Padre Pio was waiting for her. It was one of those winter days, bleached by the snow in which it was even difficult to walk. The road was so full of snow that the woman had the certainty she would not reach the Convent in time for the appointment with the director. Full of faith, she charged her Guardian Angel to tell Padre Pio she would have arrived at the convent late because of the snow. When she reached the convent she saw with enormous joy that the monk was waiting for her behind a window. He greeted her smiling." -Send me your guardian Angel

Wait, you can send your Guardian Angel? I barely even pray to him, except for rattling off the rhyming prayer I learned when I was a little boy.

"A guy told Father Pio: I cannot come and see you very often. My salary doesn’t allow me such expensive trips. Father Pio answered: “Who has told you to come here? You have your Guardian Angel, don’t you? You tell him what you want, you send him here, and you will have the answer.”

So, I started doing this. When I was filled with anxiety or struck with fear. I would send my guardian to Padre Pio even though he is in Heaven. I would even send my guardian angel to other people's guardian angel. If I had a job interview or if I didn't want my parents to get mad a me. I would send my guardian angel to help me in the given situation.

I invite you to get the book and read it for yourself. It is not a heavy read and you will be glad you did!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page